Rutabaga Gratin

We had picked up a rutabaga at the store a couple of weeks ago as an experiment of sorts. Neither of us had ever had rutabaga before, and I decided to give it a shot. I thinly, thinly sliced the peeled rutabaga on my mandolin and then layered the pieces in a pie dish. I layered the rutabaga how I would scalloped potatoes, alternating butter, cheese, flour and salt and pepper, and adding a bit of milk to it before baking. I covered it in foil for 45 minutes at 425, and then baked another 30 minutes without the foil. I could have shortened the baking time by boiling the rutabaga slices first, but I just threw it in the oven.

12507519_10208596868505777_5713753798889962168_n

It turned out much better than I had expected! We both really liked it. A bit sweeter than a potato, I may up the salt and seasoning next time, but other than that, this was a success. I doubt it will turn into a regular potato substitute, but it may show up here and there as another veggie I can add to the winter rotation.

I’m patiently waiting for my spring fruits and veggies, but in the mean time, I’m more than happy to experiment with other things that are seasonally appropriate!

Leave a Reply

