Tuesdays with Dorie Chocolate Cornflake Haystacks

This is a rare occasion where I’m grateful for being a part of Tuesday’s with Dorie. This particular recipe is one I would have skipped almost for certain. Nothing about it appealed to me. My fiancee? A whole different story. He was excited for these.

IMG_2010

(Anyone else excited for Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2 to come out later this week?)

It was a wet, cold, rainy weekend here in Michigan, and as a result I REALLY did not want to head off to the store for the items I was missing. Turns out- I made some trades and made it work.

The recipe called for milk chocolate, eggs, salt, cornflakes, agave nectar, pecans, sweetened coconut, and raisins.

I had milk chocolate, eggs, salt, frosted flakes cereal, honey, almonds, unsweetened coconut and dried cranberries.

It worked. And surprise, surprise- they were yummy. I wasn’t hugely fond of the texture- but it was exactly as described by Dorie. And my fiancee? Loved them.

IMG_2012

7 Comments

  1. Mine had crispy edges but chewy center which was fine, but i am not a fan of these. Although i do keep eating them for some reason! Yours look delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

